Know Your Love Language

Know Your Love Language

Know Your Love Language


The 5 Love Languages, was originally written in 1992, until now it helps couples today, selling more than 12 million copies since it was first published. According to Dr. Chapman, there are five primary love languages that people use. These include words of affirmation, quality time, physical touch, acts of service, and receiving gifts. Here is an overview of the five love languages.


Words of Affirmation

The words of affirmation love language is about expressing affection through spoken words, praise, or appreciation. When this is someone's primary love language, they enjoy kind words and encouragement. They also enjoy uplifting quotes, love notes, and cute text messages. You can make this person's day by complimenting them or pointing out what they do well.


Quality Time

Love and affection are expressed through this love language when someone gives someone else their undivided attention. People with this love language are looking for quality over quantity. So, when you get together, they feel loved if you are present and focused on them. Make sure that you make eye contact, affirm what the other person is saying, and refrain from offering advice.


Physical Touch

A person with this love language feels loved through physical affection. Their idea of a perfect date might include cuddling on the couch with a glass of wine and a good movie. They simply want to be close to their partners physically.


Acts of Service

When someone's primary love language is acts of service, they feel loved and appreciated when people do nice things for them. They love when people do little things for them and often can be found doing little things for others, little acts of service go straight to the person's heart. Example is cooking dinner for your partner.


Receiving Gifts

To a person whose love language is receiving gifts, gift-giving is symbolic of love and affection in their mind. They treasure not only the gift itself but also the time and effort the gift giver put into it. What's more, they do not necessarily expect large or expensive gifts, the love language receiving gifts is more what is behind the gift that appeals to them.